Still Shining ON

Posted: December 8, 2012 by rodneywatsonjr in Uncategorized

Still Shinning ON

I remember when I first heard the wisdom and soulful music for a better world by John Lennon, my first impression was wow this guy was a true visionary who dreamed of a better world for all. He was a dreamer who just wanted our world leaders to give Peace a chance. His imagination was and still is one of music’s greatest inspiration that the world still needs to hear even today. I was only 3 years old when he was taken away from the world of the living on December 8, 1980 but when I was about 7 years old I had my first powerful encounter with the genius of his life, music and message.

Growing up in the ghettos of Kansas City, his music was like a breath of fresh air that I was not used to at all and made me stop and imagine a better world than the one around me. When I first made my decision to go AWOL his music and message was in heavy rotation on my play list and YouTube videos of his interviews helped me through many storms. The first time I spoke here publicly before an audience here at First United I had his powerful song Imagine playing as my introduction before I spoke.

I wish he was still here because I know he would have my back in this situation I’m in against a Conservative Government that wants to break up my family just because my eyes were open during my one year deployment to Iraq. You can see in his eyes the same look of knowing the possibility of being attacked or killed just for his message of PEACE AND LOVE but he kept going towards his destiny.

On this day marking his death I wish I could tell his wife Yoko Ono how much he inspired me to be fearless as well with my message of PEACE. I went to a war zone not knowing if I would make it back for lies, so it only makes perfect sense to me that I risk my life and freedom now for the truth.

I salute you John Lennon and I truly believe that our energy never really disappears and his message is living proof. Rest in Peace to one of the greatest messengers of PEACE AND LOVE, may your life and message continue to shine on!!

~Rodney Watson Jr

Comments
  1. Charlotte Sheasby-Coleman says:

    I think John Lennon would so appreciate the way you are honouring his legacy of peace, Rodney. Congratulations on your wonderful blog. xo

  2. rodneywatsonjr says:

    Thank you Charlotte your kind comment put a smile on my face, Peace and Love!

  3. Earl Kleinhenz says:

    I just want to mention I am just newbie to blogging and truly loved your web page. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You absolutely have tremendous well written articles. With thanks for sharing your website page.

  4. Andrew Pelt says:

    I just want to mention I’m all new to blogging and absolutely savored you’re blog site. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You surely have wonderful articles and reviews. Many thanks for sharing with us your web site.

  5. Burton Haynes says:

    I simply want to mention I am just beginner to blogging and certainly enjoyed your website. Probably I’m want to bookmark your site . You definitely have really good writings. Thanks for sharing your web-site.

  6. green coffee bean extract review says:

    I have recently started a blog, the information you offer on this website has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work. “The very ink with which history is written is merely fluid prejudice.” by Mark Twain.

  7. Buy Samsung Galaxy S3 says:

    Fantastic web site. Lots of useful information here. I’m sending it to several friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks on your sweat!

  8. Codi Bishopp says:

    I reckon something genuinely special in this site.

  9. austin cockroach pest control says:

    If you dont mind, where do you host your blog? I am hunting for a great host and your blog seams to be fast and up most the time

  10. click this says:

    What a excellent perspective, nonetheless is not aid make every sence whatsoever talking about that will mather. Every approach a lot of thanks plus i had endeavor to discuss your personal publish straight into delicius nonetheless it really is apparently issues utilizing your websites are you able to please recheck the item. with thanks once again.

  11. chair mats says:

    How come you dont have your web site viewable in wap format? cant see anything in my netbook.

  12. source says:

    How did you make this site look this sick. Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it!

  13. website says:

    An interesting post there mate ! Thank you for that .

  14. link says:

    Howdy. Very cool blog!! Guy .. Charming .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your situate and take the feeds also…I am blissful to attain abundant cooperative in rank here in the article. Thankfulness for sharing…

  15. Cassandra Rhodd says:

    excellent points altogether, you simply gained a emblem new reader. What could you recommend about your post that you simply made a few days in the past? Any sure?

  16. digital signage housing says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with original applying for grants this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this amazing site is something that is required on the web, an individual if we do originality. valuable job for bringing new stuff towards the internet!

  17. chairmat says:

    Could you message me with some hints & tips on how you made this blog look this cool, I would be appreciative!

Leave a Reply

